A tale about procrastination or the memory card drama

I’d love to be that kind of person who creates to-do lists and stick to them every day. Those organized and focused guys. I swear I try to do everything that I should, but I always put my tasks on the long finger.

You might not believe, dear reader, but I had a problem to solve with my digital camera since November when I travelled around Europe for the first time. I don’t know what the hell happened with the memory card. After years of fellowship, the creature stopped working in Porto and, as a result, I couldn’t access the photos in it. To make matter worse, I hadn’t had the chance to copy all the pictures in cloud services, which meant that images of five days in London (I spent six there!) would be lost forever. I tried to open it in a computer, but I’ve got only an unfriendly message which said it was impossible to read the files. I didn’t want to ruin the rest of my trip in Portugal, so I started saving the new pics in the camera itself until buying another card (what I did in a Fnac in Lisbon). I put the stubborn device inside a pocket of my camera bag to solve the problem later.

Back to Dublin in December, I tried to open the card in my laptop and… no success. I googled something in the hope of finding a solution, but the programmes seemed a bit hard to manage. In addition, I was in a horrible mood those days and fighting against a memory card was the last thing I wanted. I’d taken a good number of snaps with my smartphone as well, so it wasn’t a complete tragedy.

The year went away, January came and passed by… February was time to backpack again. New trips, new places, new things to think about. In consequence, I forgot the memory card in the place where I’d put it in November, inside the small black bag.

Yet in Brazil, I decided it was time to solve the problem or, at least, to make an effort to recover the pictures. I missed my photos, especially from London – London Bridge, Borough Market, Soho… They’re not exactly remote places on Earth, but I’ve been there and I wanted my memories.

However, it took almost three months to summon up some courage and face the task. Last week, on a rainy Wednesday, I took the afternoon off (quite a joke for an unemployed person) to dedicate all my attention to this endless drama. I could tell that a solution came after a great of effort, but it’s not true. I just opened some web pages and there were plenty of alternatives to open a card with errors. I had to choose one to give it a go, so I went for Zero Assumption Recovery, which has a free 30-day trial.

How a wonderful tool. Why on Earth I hadn’t tried it before? It was so easy that I was almost embarrassed for being so lazy. After downloading the software, you just need to open it and select the files you want to copy to a directory (like Desktop, for example). The folders had strange names, but eventually I found the ones I needed. They were there! Such a miracle! I suffered so much in Porto because of them. I’m not the best photographer, but I do enjoy taking pictures I want to keep my works of art with me.

I don’t have lots of reasons to be glad since I came back from Ireland, because of this recovering my beloved shots was sort of a gift from Heaven. It was just a stupid thing in a rainy Wednesday, but it’s priceless to see something that remind you of a great time you had.

654464

Thames River in London – one of my “lost” pictures that came back to life

Leave a Reply

